Campus Construction

The University of Central Asia (UCA) currently has town campuses and learning centres in Khorog and Dushanbe Tajikistan; Naryn and Bishkek, Kyrgyz Republic; and Tekeli and Taldykorgan, Kazakhstan. Its Central Administrative Office is in Bishkek.

Campus constructionThe University’s three main campuses will be located at the crossroads of the Pamir, Tien-Shan, Kunlun-Shan, and Hindu-Kush mountain ranges in Khorog, Naryn and Tekeli. Historical meeting points for the cultures and travelers of the ancient Silk Road, these communities will once again become vibrant hubs of international exchange, where knowledge is created, debates emerge and innovation drives development. These locales will provide learning laboratories in which to address environmental, economic and social challenges critical to the growth and development of Central Asia. They also offer access to learning resources to better understand globally significant issues, such as natural resource management, migration, ecotourism and economic transition.

Each University campus will include academic, athletic and residential facilities surrounded by landscaped parks. The design and building process will employ best practices in campus design, seismic design, construction methods and environmental sustainability.  The campus master plan and concept design for the campuses were conceived by the award-winning architecture firm Arata Isozaki & Associates, while the detailed design and construction documentation for the Naryn campus facility were prepared by AECOM UK.

Since the University’s inception, the Aga Khan Development Network and UCA have invested significant resources in all aspects of construction and facilities development, including securing land, conducting extensive site investigations and master-planning, selection of architects and engineers to design the facilities, site preparation works and Phase I construction of the Naryn campus facility. The governments of Tajikistan, the Kyrgyz Republic and Kazakhstan have provided land for the campus and fiscal exemptions in accordance with the UCA treaty which was signed by the three presidents and His Highness the Aga Khan.